Washington State Department of
Labor & Industries

Electrical Program

How to Become a Certified Electrician
What you need to know about certification in Washington State

State law requires a valid certificate of competency from the
Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) for anyone
working in the electrical trade.

How do | become an electrician in
Washington State?

Here’s how to get started:

B Get an electrical training certificate (trainee card)
from L&I. You must be at least 16 years old.*
You will need to renew your training certificate
every two years until you have enough hours to
take the exam.

B Work under the direct supervision of a certified
electrician while you are gaining the required
hours of experience to become either a journeyman
or specialty electrician. The certified electrician
must appropriately supervise your activities
and your work hours must be documented by
your employer.

B Before renewing your training certificate, you
must complete the L&I-required and approved
basic classroom instruction:

— Until June 30, 2013 you will need 16 hours/year.

— Beginning July 1, 2013 you will need 24 hours/
year.

Important: Effective July 1, 2013, before applying
to take the certification exam, you must have
completed 24 hours of basic classroom instruction
for each 2000 hours of experience required

for certification.

*Note: If you're under the age of 18, there are certain work

restrictions. Learn more at www.Teenworkers.Lni.wa.gov.

How do | get an electrical training certificate?

B You can apply for a certificate or renew it online
at www.ElectricalRenew.Lni.wa.gov, or by
mailing an application for renewal to the Electrical
Program, or by going in person to any L&lI office.

B Be sure to notify L&l if your address changes to
ensure that you get your renewal notice on time.

How many hours of experience are required to
qualify for the exam?

The “general journeyman” trade requires 8,000
experience hours. Most of the specialty trades
(residential, HVAC/refrigeration, sign installer, etc.)
require 4,000 hours and a few trades require 2,000.

Learn more at www.ElectricalRenew.Lni.wa.gov and
click on “Electrical Licenses & Certificates” or contact
the Electrical Program. See contact information below.

Important! Be sure the electrical contractor and
electrician you work for are properly licensed.
Otherwise, you will not get experience credit for
your work hours.

For more information

Web: www.ElectricalProgram.Lni.wa.gov
Phone: 360-902-5269
E-mail: ElectricalProgram@Lni.wa.gov

L&l Offices: www.Offices.Lni.wa.gov

Other formats for persons with disabilities are available on
request. Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, call
360-902-5797. L& is an equal opportunity employer.
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